Settling in and slowing down

I don’t like summer… *GASP!* But the sun! The water! The frozen drinks!

Yup, you heard it right, I don’t like summer. It’s hot, it’s chaotic, it seems to be week after week of never-ending plans and oh my God, get outside, must enjoy the sun!! Night after night the kids argue the point that “it’s not bedtime, mummy, THE SUN IS STILL OUT!” and all of the blinds and curtains in the world do not convince them otherwise. We sweat when we play, we sweat when we sit, we sweat even after bathing.

006Fall, now that is my season. When you can throw the windows open and enjoy the crisp clean air. When nighttime can involve a relaxing bath and some tea, rather than a cold shower and ice water. The leaves turn and as it happens you can literally feel life slow down.

It means birthdays, and holidays, and a warm bowl of chili, cooking all day in that crock pot that was forgotten for months. It means pumpkins, and apple picking, and adorable Halloween pictures, even if they won’t cooperate. The nights wind down slower, and the sun agrees that it’s time for us to enjoy a little more night-time. It means walks at dusk, not with sun blaring in our eyes. It means hay rides with blankets, and a cozy hoodie on while cuddled up for the game. It means, dare I say, prepping a little for a big round man in a red suit.

003The last six months of heating up was during a time of major change. A time of becoming a new normal and focusing on need, rather than want. I have come so far in those six months, and I’m ready for a slowdown. As spring came and went, and summer seemed to pass quickly, every day was a challenge to find our new norm.

I’m ready to live again. Not rushing to get it all done, and honor plans, and meet some made up goal of mandatory outside time. I’m ready for the fresh air that is truly fresh, not sticky and blazing.  I’m ready to stop and look around at everything around me, especially the joy that my boys exude when they are enjoying what nature has to bring during this change in season. 

For so many, fall is the beginning. Beginning of a new year. Beginning of the holiday season. For me, it’s my new beginning. I’ve found my norm. Now I get to live it.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Divorce, Family, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

