I tried to get out

genYI live across the street from my mother.

On purpose.

I never thought I would seriously say that. I always had this aversion to living in my home town. I wasn’t one of the “townies” who still knew everyone’s business**, and I certainly didn’t want them all knowing mine. To me, getting out was a way to move on, move up. I come from an affluent town, so I’m not saying I was in need of moving out of the ghetto to bigger and better things. I just wanted out.

Until I moved away. And realized schools in other places are not as good as my top-20-in the-state school district. Until I lived around neighbors who clearly weren’t the type of people I wanted to associate with…

cough::::SNOB::cough (I’ll admit it)

And then on the horizon was impending single (poor house) motherhood. I had to make a choice of where to move where I could stay for a couple of years (cheaply) but start the boys at a school I trusted. Where once I had the money, I could up-size and keep them somewhere familiar. And holy crap…. I needed HELP at my fingertips.

There was a lot of back and forth in my head. Move farther so I can rent something bigger, but have more commute (aka, less time than I have now to get everything done?!?!) or pack my little family of three into a tiny 600 square foot place and be in the same town as work, daycare, and across the street from someone I will have to annoy rely on for years to come?

live with parents<—At least that’s not me, right?

 

 

 

 

Needless to say, I went with the latter. But it took a lot for me to get there. Too close for comfort? Too much of a burden on her? Too much rambunctious for such a little space?

What I’ve found is it’s the perfect balance between “my own independence” and “holy crap I need help.” She’s there if I need her. And luckily, that’s a lot less than I thought it would be. And she might as well be a million miles away when I don’t need her. No unexpected visits (on either of our parts), no over reliance (on my part – or so I hope). But sometimes it’s nice to have someone to walk with, or someone to have over to spend dinner time and lend a hand with that always-exhausting night time routine.

On the weekends when I don’t have the boys, she’s my “single” partner in crime, which saves me on many “holy sh*t, it’s too quiet” occasions. With all of my friends married, pregnant, and way more popular, sometimes I need someone to keep me from going out of my mind from all the silence. To level me off from the extremes of “go-go-GO” to the sound of crickets. But she also gets it when I want to lose myself in the silence of being alone in this space. And even though she’s literally a walk away, it doesn’t seem it.

I love living across the street from my mother. Yeah, I said it.

**TOTAL LIE – I totally keep up with all those townies’ business… duh… FACEBOOK.

Picture Creds

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Adult Life, Family, Life's hard decisions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

