ThankFULL

Pardon the hiatus, but I was thoroughly basking in thankfulness and filling my belly for six days straight. This year, more than any other, I really started to understand the meaning of Thanksgiving. It’s always been my second favorite holiday (because Christmas Eve is just the greatest day ever invented) and I’ve loved spending time with my two favorite things, family and food. But this year? This year I made myself take it all in. I looked around and truly saw meaning in every little thing. I found millions of things to be thankful for, from my children, to our home, our family, and blessings.

I slowed down a bit and enjoyed things. Who cared that the house was a mess and that I didn’t get to sleep…. again. We made memories and spent quality time together. We saw fishies and turtles, and most importantly, sharks! There were lunch dates and dinner dates, sometimes with children, sometimes without. There was Christmas shopping, movie watching, and just plain nothing.

We cuddled on the couch, we played outside (hello, perfect fall weather!) and shared many many kisses between mommy and son. I didn’t worry about rushing through our activities, thinking ‘I need to prep for tomorrow!’ or ‘Holy Lord there’s so much laundry!’ I simply enjoyed the time I had.

 

Instead of getting everything done myself, I shared them with Owen, asking him to help with everything I thought he could. We cooked, we cleaned, we took care of his ‘baby brudder’. Things that I tend to get done quickly took forever, but were more fun than I could have imagined because I was sharing them with this little kid that seems to have grown up in a matter of months. I threw caution to the wind and allowed nap times to occur sporadically, meals to consist of nothing more than dessert, and pudding to be mixed with a toddler’s wavering hand.

But most importantly, I was thankful. I made myself be thankful for those things I so easily forget I should be thankful for. We have such a tendency to think about the here and now. The stresses of day-to-day. The bills, the lack of sleep, the inability to prevent our hair from falling out. Instead of ho-humming about the things that truly aren’t that bad, I focused on the things that are truly great. My two amazing little boys. A husband who is not only willing to do anything I ask, but is a better father than I could have ever wanted for my babies. Family who is close enough to see weekly and family who took the time to travel from far and wide.

As our week off drew to an end, I was happy that routine would soon run our lives again, but was also glad I got to take some time to refocus my energy to the positive…. to breathe again, if you will. And seeing this face light up, time and time again, certainly reminded me to be thankful.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Family, Holidays, Oh, how I love him. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

