Cartoons should be real

Caillou’s parents make it look so easy. Always the right thing to say, the right activities, perfect trips to whatever Target-esque store they frequent. Quick to avoid tantrums with a simple “I don’t think that’s appropriate” and somehow divert all bad energy to the creative and happy kind.

Caillou’s mom can whip up a Halloween costume in ONE DAY, and somehow manages to still have time to tend to the garden. Caillou’s dad is a do-it-all kind of guy. Can bring home the bacon, buy all the right things at the grocery store, and bike to the park daily.

They never lose their cool. They’re always smiling. Their children love to help with all chores, and somehow don’t seem to make a mess anyway, unless by mess you mean dig into the pile of leaves that were just raked.

I’m pretty sure Rosie has never cried, and I have yet to see Caillou in a time-out. Date nights and free days seem to be plentiful, as Caillou’s grandparents are constantly taking him and he seems to frequently be pawned off to an old guy next stoor.

I yearn to be Caillou’s mom. I want the right things to say, the fun things to do. I want to remain calm in all situations, and spend a great amount of alone time with my husband. I want to wear comfy shapeless sweaters and still feel comfortable in my womanhood. I want my dream home on Cartoon Way, and a family, that no matter what, smiles.

*Picture from wikipidia

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Amazing people, Banter, Family, I'm Crazy, NaBloPoMo. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cartoons should be real

  1. But Caillou might be the most annoying child on the planet! This made me laugh, though. I can totally relate.

  2. Ron says:

    This is indeed all very true but Caillou wines ALL THE TIME. Lol. So yes being a calm parent is what we all strive for but who wants a winey kid.

    I would like to be like Timmy Turner’s dad and screw up all the time and still have my child turn out great.

Leave a Reply

