My True Joys of Motherhood

You know what melts my heart?

This:

 And this:

And especially this:

No matter how Owen is acting (side note: KING of tantrums), his ability to be the best big brother never wavers. He can be mid-cry, mid-stomp, mid-scream and will drop it all to comfort his best buddy. He spends all his time singing, teaching, nurturing. Just to introduce Lucas to all of the wonders of the world as he sees them.

His constant attention shocks and impresses me. I could have never asked for a better relationship between my two boys. And as time goes on, and the interaction increases, it can only grow. I will watch these two grow to be the best of friends, the worst of enemies, and surely a force for two parents to reckon with.

Sometimes I think I’m insane for having them so close together. After all, at 23 months Owen was just finally becoming his own little man. A little man that sometimes I wish I could give all my attention to. A guy I want to get to know inside and out, but with an infant that’s just not a possibility.

The house may be a mess, my brain may not quite function, but when I look at them both together, and picture what will develop as years pass, I know it was all worth it. And you know what? I have the peace of mind knowing that my little baby boy will always have a big brother who’s got his back.

 

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Family, NaBloPoMo, Oh, how I love him, Proud mama. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

