2nd Tri, so nice to see you!

And here we are, officially in the 2nd trimester, 14 weeks along. People are starting to notice I’m getting rotund, and not in the awful muffin top way. I am starting to have a lot more of an emotional attachment to this baby, which I feel is long overdue, but I guess the busy life I’m leading right now hasn’t allowed me to let it all “sink in” quite until now when I can actually see myself looking pregnant.

Let me preface this picture by saying I took it like 4 times trying to actually look smaller. But every picture looked the same. Once you become pregnant, that ability to suck in a gut mysteriously disappears. This is after a full day of nothing but eating. A big breakfast, my friend’s shower where lots more breakfast/brunch/desserts were consumed, then dinner with my family, which consisted of spaghetti with butter and a frappe. That’s right, we had a frappe with dinner. And…. wait, did I forget to mention I had two? Yeah, two. So, the belly in the picture is probably 80% baby bump, 20% frappe and food overflowing up to the upper part of my belly.

How far along? 14 Weeks

Total weight gain/loss: 7 lbs

Fruit this week? A lemon! Seems so big!!

Maternity clothes? Holding on to my normal clothes by a thread

Stretch marks? Nope, but my old ones are definitely more pronounced!

Sleep: Starting to get pubic pain when I lay on my side, which is unfortunate, because I have to lay on my side most of the time

Best moment this week: Someone actually said “Are you pregnant??”!!! AND, getting the early risk assessment results to find that there’s a 1 in >10,000 chance of something being wrong!

Have you told family and friends: Everyone now officially knows!

Movement: I am 99% sure I can feel little pushes every now and then, but that 1% is telling me it’s too early???

Food cravings: Did I say pancakes last time? I meant BREAKFAST! French toast, pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, you name it.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Barfy free for a whole week!

Have you started to show yet: I pretty much look 5 months pregnant at this point.

Gender prediction: BOY! Though, I should probably have a girl name or two just in case we’re really surprised!

Labor Signs: Nervous the other day that I was having weird contractions. Not painful ones, more like spasms. But, they went away quickly.

Belly Button in or out? Innie

Wedding rings on or off? On, but seriously, by the end of the day I got some sausage fingers

Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy, but damn, I still have my moments

Favorite names this week: Lucas, Charlie, Amelia (I stole names from D at Unpolished Parenting this week!)

Milestones: Officially in second trimester!!!

Pregnancy Brain flub of the week: Forgot to put my car in park and took my foot off the brake…. Luckily only rolled slowly towards the car parked in front of me. Another time I put the car in gear then turned around to reverse, and took my foot off the brake and started to go forward. Wrong gear.

Random Pregnant Lady Crying Moment of the week: Watching “Crossroads” with Britney Spears. Not even joking.

Pregnant Lady Dream of the week: Definitely having sex with Neil Patrick Harris. Didn’t even phase me that he’s gay. Also a dream that we found our dream house in our dream town for $200,000. And we were going to be able to get a loan for another $150,000 to gut and renovate. Which would then make the house worth $1 MILLION. Not so much a crazy pregnant dream, but was sure a sad shock of reality when I woke up.

What you miss: The sun, and warmth. Oh, wait, that has nothing to do with pregnancy. Instead that is due to the fact that there have been about 80 inches of snow dropped on us in the last month and a half and tomorrow is supposed to be an additional 15. I need May.

What are you excited about next? BIG ultrasound in 3 ½ weeks!

What can’t you do now? Eat at the coffee table. I can’t bend that far down anymore without being very very uncomfortable.

Weekly Wisdom: Being pregnant is like an automatic boob job. I missed these perky suckers. Too bad they’ll deflate faster than a parachute after it hits the ground when I’m done with all this.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Weekly Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2nd Tri, so nice to see you!

  1. I LOVE the name Charlie. Love. If I ever have a boy that name will be a serious contender.

  2. D says:

    Thanks for the shout out 🙂 Lucas and Amelia are my favorite 2 names as well! And I’m so there with you on the automatic boob job – husband cant keep his eyes and hands off of them, but they are so damn senitive! It would nice if they could stay around this size… but alas, we know the reality of the situation.

  3. Mama Durso says:

    You haven’t posted in a really long time and I want to make sure everything is okay… hopefully comments get emailed to you so you actually read this. Hopefully you’re just busy being a mom, wife, baby incubator and productive member of society and nothing bad has happened! Just concerned.

  4. roncap says:

    Hey lady, where are your new posts? I hope everything is good.

Leave a Reply

