As we add, some is taken away

My sister had a baby girl this week. The first girl grandchild for my mother, the first girl we get to spoil with pink and frills and baby dolls. The first girl that we’ll treat very differently than those crazy out-of-control boys that we already have.

As I drove to the hospital to see my new niece, a thought occurred to me. Everything is going to be totally different. For almost 2 years we have been surrounded by our boys. They are dirty. And rough. And the center of attention. Now? We’re heading into a whole new dynamic. Up until this point it’s been Henry and Owen. The trouble-making cousins who take every ounce of our energy and attention, leaving us little else to think about.

But now? Add a girl. A new little person to throw into the mix and change everything we’ve known to this point. I couldn’t help but feel a little sad. Don’t get me wrong, I am beyond excited for her to be here, and even more excited for this new little one inside me. But when I realized just how much everything is going to change, and how complacent we’ve gotten with our boy-filled family, I wondered what Mimi (and whoever my little baby is) would add to this craziness.

Will attention be taken away from the two who have known nothing but the spotlight? Obviously it’s going to. Will a new girl calm them, or make them crazier? Lord, let’s hope for calm.

She’s perfect, and precious, and Owen already adores his new cousin, yelling “MIMI” as he pats her back. But little does he know, he and Henry’s lives are going to change, all because Mimi has come into this world. And with one more on the way to butt into Owen’s center stage mentality, the changes will escalate. Life as we all knew it for 2 years is about to get even crazier (and definitely even more cuter).

PS. To lighten the mood? Want to know the best birth story ever? I wish it could be mine, because I would go into the record books for best “birth story blog”. Miriam Lena was brought into this world by chance while my sister was on the toilet peeing. Yup, she fell out. And luckily the nurse was there just in time to catch her. If only my labor and delivery could go so easy. Only my sister would have the prom-night toilet baby. Only my sister.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

