No resolution, but certainly some resolve

With the holidays behind me, and some normalcy returning to my life, I finally have some time to reflect on 2010 and look forward to 2011.

Like most (or so it seems), Christmas kicked my ass. Hard. I treasured the moments we all had, the traditions, the tv specials, but seriously, pulling Owen out of his normal routine turned our lives up-side-down. Torture. I was happy to get back to our routine this week when daycare resumed and work was back to normal. Normal meal times, normal nap times, normal bedtimes. Ahhhhhhh.

So, like I said,  I have finally found this time, sitting in bed, to think about where I’ll go in 2011, as all of these wonderful things will be coming our way. I can’t say I have any resolutions, per se, but who wants a resolution for the sake of a resolution? You’re just setting yourself up to fail. So, instead, I have a few goals, or more specifically, milestones, that I hope to will reach in 2011.

First, start small. In 2010 I was a bad blogger. And an even worse blog reader. Sure, I wrote, but certainly no where near as much I wanted to. I had lists pages long on what I wanted to write about, and now, those are all outdated and irrelevant, all things left unsaid. I don’t want that for 2011. I want to get it all out. I want to write more, not for the sake of writing, but because I have fun things to say, damn it! And blog reading? I spend a lot of time doing it, I follow dozens of bloggers, but they’d never know. I’m a lurker. And as a blogger myself, I love comments, so, I would assume they all do as well. I constantly have the “they don’t care what I have to say” thoughts, but why do I think that? Why wouldn’t they want to hear from me? So, I’ll try to be better.

Bigger and better things. I will have a baby in 2011. This is already in the works, so I’m pretty sure I can accomplish this one. But the energy and emotions required to accomplish this will consume me for the rest of the year, so, it’s a pretty big one 🙂

Another big one, one that ties very closely to goal number 2, DEBT. We’re in some serious debt. Nothing that we’re stressing too much over, but if I told you the number, you’d gasp, and hide your eyes, and run away. Then probably organize a fundraiser to help us. But, I assure you, we have a 2 year plan, and I’m hoping to write way more about it, because this consumes hours a week for me to keep on track and stick to the plan. And seriously? I’m so sick of the online articles that claim the best advice, such as “5 easy ways to save!” or “small steps to financial freedom!” They’re all the same, make more, spend less… duh. But reality is a lot harder, and I have a lot to say about it.

2010 was great, 2011 will be better. Every day seemed the same to me last year, and that’s probably because with a 1 year-old, every day pretty much has to be the same, and I loved it. But there are so many more things to come, all that will take time, effort, sweat, and tears. All that will be worth every struggle.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Family, Life In General, The poor house. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No resolution, but certainly some resolve

  1. Beth says:

    Those seem like completely manageable goals to me. Good luck 🙂
    And I would like to hear more about your debt resolution. That’s definitely one of my family’s goals for the New Year as well (student loans-eek!).

  2. Good luck!

    I am the word’s WORST comment-leaver ever. I vow to do better.

  3. K says:

    I vow to do better too! It was actually one of my goals last year, but reading blog posts in a reader makes them easier to read but harder to comment on.

    So here is a comment for you: I’m glad to know now everyone makes resolutions and is more about goals. I’m the same. Here’s hoping 2011 is a GREAT year!

  4. roncap says:

    Best of luck, and I too am happy that the holidays are over. Just getting my son to bed at his normal time has been wonderful. Enjoy your day.

Leave a Reply

