The most serious, and exciting, of conversations

When Dave and I got married just 2 1/2 short years ago, during the ceremony, our Justice of the Peace told the most incredible story about a rose. How a rose signified so many things and how it can be used in the greatest and worst of times to bring a couple together when it’s most needed. If you have something really important to talk to your spouse about, leave a single rose in a special place. Somewhere where your love will find it, and know, that a discussion needs to be started. It can be about a fight, about a worry, or just to say you love them.

I left Dave a rose yesterday. I left it right on his folded clothes to see immediately after he got out of the shower after work. I was so nervous of his expression when he walked in. I knew the first thing that would come to his head was dread. What could I possibly need to tell him.

Home-made, from the heart, and way cheaper than the real deal

As he walked out of the bathroom holding the rose he said, “what’s this?” “We need to talk,” I responded. “Oh no.”

“Seems your super sperm is super again.”

This time the rose symbolized celebration. We will (hopefully) be blessed with a little brother or sister for Owen in August.

I found out yesterday after taking a test in the morning that came out negative. I didn’t lose hope, I knew it was still too early. Six hours later I got a feeling to try again. I know that feeling is just that I’m crazy and couldn’t wait the two additional days that I promised myself I would, but I gave in anyway. And after an incredibly long 3 minutes, I turned to see this:

Excitement. He was excited. But terrified, as I am. As I saw that positive on that test, I cried. I cried and smiled, then cried in terror. TWO? How can we handle two? Will we have enough money? Will I finally lose all of the patience that I have been clinging to? And, God forbid, what if something goes wrong? I feel sad for those I know who have been trying forever, who I now have to tell in a month or so that I am one of the lucky ones that can get pregnant no problem. While they are going through tests and doctors’ visits and heartache. I fear that I can’t feel happy for me, while I’m sad for them.

So many things keep going through my head. I’m still terrified, but I think as time goes on, that fear will subside and the immediate joy I felt will come through and conquer all of those fears.

Every time I think of our wedding and the significance of the rose, I manage to tear up. And I can’t even say how many guests at our wedding still talk about that part of the ceremony. This was the first time I have used that rose, I’m glad the first time was for something as precious as this new life inside me.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Family, I'm Crazy, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The most serious, and exciting, of conversations

  1. Renelle says:

    Congrats! 🙂 What a wonderful time of year to find out!

  2. mrs. joe says:

    Congratulations Krista! I’m happy you didn’t have to wait long for operation #2 to commence 🙂 I know you are more than capable of having enough love and patience for two – you will make a marvelous mommy the second time around!

  3. Pingback: Real life isn’t always an excuse | True to life

  4. roncap says:

    That is wonderful news

  5. Morgan says:

    I’m SO late on commenting, but I read it and squealed when you first posted it… CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!! I hope you’re feeling well and can’t wait for more updates. 😀

  6. I’m really late to this, but CONGRATS!!!

Leave a Reply

