Refreshed, Relaxed, and a Hell of a lot more Positive

Like so many mothers out there, I enjoy a little alone time. A little “me” time, if you will. And like most mothers, I rarely get it. With my previous job ending and a bright new future on the horizon, a vacation was in order. And since going somewhere and relaxing in the sun was out.of.the.question given our current state of finances, I did what any mother looking for her sanity would do. I had a stay-cation.

You know, where you get to stay home, be lazy, productive, fat, and catch up on every awful reality show you’ve missed? Where you can make a list of all of the things you hope to will accomplish, and have hours on end to do them? How to get them done? SEND YOUR CHILD TO DAYCARE ANYWAY. Even though I was home, even though it could have been a nice bonding mommy and Owen week, I sent him off on his merry way anyway. So mommy could have 40 hours during the week ALL ALONE in her cozy home to either clean, relax, sleep, or dance around naked if her heart so desired.

I had big plans. High hopes. A list.

Daunting

I’m going to be honest, I thought I seriously would accomplish everything on that list. Then the thrill of my couch was too much to resist and I’m not going to lie, it won most of the time. I got a good amount done, seriously, and at least I got through the week feeling as though my house was the cleanest it’s been in quite some time (you should have seen the dog hair. Man, I should have captured that for some photos).

And though I still didn’t create my wedding album (it’s been over two years, people, what’s another year??) and my second bedroom still looks like this:

Boarderline Hoarder?

I at least got to relax. And most importantly, forget about the year that has been Hell at work, with a boss I can’t stand, and constant berating. My outlook is much more positive, and I can wake up in the morning feeling as though I want to impress those around me, do my best, and get noticed.

Best vacation ever? Not so much, but definitely one I’d do again.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Adult Life, I hate my job, I'm Crazy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

