And what’s another?

I had sex last night. ::GASP::

Not just any kind of sex. Pure, just the way God intended, baby-making sex. (::looking around:: my family doesn’t read this, right?)

Sigh of relief

There, I said it. Dave and I started Day 1 of Operation Baby Making. If we’re as lucky as we were with Owen, Day 1 is all we’ll need, my family is known to be Fertile Mertles.

Are we ready? Man, I sure hope so. I don’t know what it is, but over the last two months my clock has been more than ticking. It’s been pounding. I got that baby on the brain that consumes all of your thoughts. I stared at FertilityFriend.com for hours, at those 3 “fertile” dates, planning all of the sexual escapades that can take place during those times. I researched “how to make a girl” on Google, just for fun, because, hey, we have a boy, why not try for a girl?

Dave wasn’t so sure. He put a stop to my pleas for two months, telling me we could “revisit” the subject in November. Lucky for me, November came quickly, but even then, he wasn’t so sure. He told me to come up with our budget, and a convincing argument as to why we are ready. His only concern was money, not emotion, not mentally, but can we swing it?

Being in Marketing, I did what we marketers do best,  a powerpoint presentation. I spent hours on our budget, I mean hours. And in the end I had a presentation that would convince the thriftiest of thrifters.

Yes, this is what the actual presentation looked like

Dave came home from work, we ate dinner, I pounded two glasses of wine to loosen up and we sat down for my presentation. He had questions, all that could be answered. I told him to think it over, take the night, and in the end, he was convinced.

Are we ready? I’ll keep asking this question. And again, I sure hope so. We’ll still be poor if and when this baby comes, but far less poor than we are now, and if we waited until we had all the money we wanted, we could be waiting forever. All I want is to live comfortably and have a family. I won’t be able to stop working anytime soon, and I’m getting used to that. It’s the price I have to pay for wanting a family now, rather than later in my 30’s.

So, this blog is going to change a bit, because hopefully soon I’ll be a raging hormonal mess and have lots of good pregnant nuggets of wisdom and cute ultrasound pictures. ::crosses fingers::

HERE WE GO!

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Family, I'm Crazy, Life's hard decisions, Sexy time, The "mommy" in me, The poor house. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And what’s another?

  1. Mrs. Joe says:

    Good luck dear (though it doesn’t sound like you need it!) – I love the powerpoint – I presented Mr. Joe with a proposal packet when I was pitching the idea. I definitely missed my calling!

  2. City Mom says:

    I love this post! Good for you with the presentation and all. It’s funny how men and women differ when it comes to many things, but especially the decision to have another baby. My husband said the same thing. “Let’s look at our budget.” Thanksfully I have him to look out for that sort of thing otherwise we’d be in big trouble.
    I hope last night worked and I look forward to following your journey!

  3. D says:

    🙂 Yay for baby-makin’!

  4. Kate says:

    Oh, man. You are so brave. The thought of a second child makes my hair stand on end (or, alternately, sends me directly to the nearest econo-size box of Snackwells). But it sounds like you have it all worked out.

    As a matter of fact…huh. I might hire you to make one of those presentations for me. You sound like one convincing sucker.

Leave a Reply

