Your body knows

This is your body on healthy foods:

 

Notice the colorful nutrient-rich foods? The bright shiny sun rays that seem to be emitting from within? The bright blue skies that make you want to get up and go on a warm sunny morning?

This? This is your body on crappy food, no water, and zero veggies:

Fried, tired, barfy looking, covered in bugs (metaphorically at least).

I have never really put two and two together. I was always tired. Since as long as I can remember I’ve been tired. Not once did I think that what I was eating could be the culprit. I thought, oh allergies…. stress… baby…. blah, blah, blah….

Until….. I spent the last month and a half eating well.  Drinking tons of water. Exercising. I noticed a change in my alertness, an eagerness to be awake and not stare into the abyss daydreaming of when I could get to bed. Or wishing for the day when I can have time to take a nap. Those feelings were slowly fading away.

Until this weekend. When I ate nothing but crap. Coffee and donuts for breakfast. Pizza and beer for lunch. Fried crap in butter and beer for dinner. And more beer. ZERO hydrating fluids (that’s right, not even one glass of water), ZERO veggies, ZERO colorful nutrients.

I woke up at 5 am on Sunday morning feeling like death. My body was screaming for water, and better sleep, and a toilet. I wasn’t hung over, I knew that, I had only had 6 beers total in a 12 hour period. But my body was hurting. And I knew why. It was a cry for help, like “what are you doing to me???”

I was exhausted on Sunday. Insanely thirsty. And today? Today I’m feeling the slow approach of an illness. Could it be related to my pure body bashing on Saturday? Who knows. But I sure know now that I prefer the way I feel on GOOD food. That when I’m drinking all that water and having a few fruits and veggies that I’m not longing for a nap or begging the health gods for mercy and my belly appears to be way less bloated. That when I’m taking a few walks a week my muscles feel better, and I’m raring to go do more.

I weighed myself a couple times. Friday, I was about the same as my previous weigh in. Sunday, I was up a pound, and this morning, somehow up 2. This isn’t fat, it’s the results of pure crap congealing in my system, holding on to as much water as it can because Lord knows I haven’t replaced it with anything good.

Lesson Learned.

On another note, I will also start Couch to 5K, after Blair motivated me last week to do it. I went and downloaded the app to itunes, and then realized that I can’t put it on my first generation ipod touch… stupid thing. So, I’ll have to do it the old fashioned way and remember while I’m running what I’m supposed to do… Or steal Dave’s droid while I’m running and download the app on his phone so it can tell me what to do.  I’m planning on starting day 1 tomorrow, depending on this barfy, achy, stuffy disease that’s coming on.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in McFatty, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Your body knows

  1. Ashley says:

    there is an app for that?? do share the info. I so want a droid. I drool over my moms all the time. I could totally use this idea as the straw that broke the camels back

    • Krista says:

      Yes! There’s an app that tells you exactly what you’re supposed to be doing and does the timing for you! And if you want a testimonial, my hubby is constantly raving about the amazing apps for everything you could ever want!

  2. Cindy says:

    Found your blog today… As of today I am joining the McFatty Monday bandwagon.

    I am not going to lie, my reasons before were pure prideful, selfish reasons. I didn’t want to buy new clothes, and hate the way I find myself slowly feeling about myself, but never really thought my sluggishness or depressed state could really be what I was feeding my body. Thanks for giving me even better reasons to feel inspired to join. 🙂

  3. I so agree. SO AGREE. I feel such a difference in myself & my outlook on life when I take care of myself.

  4. Vanessa says:

    Ohhh I know exactly what you mean..now that I am properly hydrating and I just feel like crap when I don’t…and ditto on the eating poorly..I feel like ick now when I do!

  5. Sarah says:

    Hi! I found your blog through Blair’s. I have had to learn the same lesson (several times) myself. I’m just getting back to the eating-really-well way of life, and I feel better already!

    • Krista says:

      I am pretty sure I’ll have to learn this lesson a few times! But the reminders of how bad I feel after a really gross eating day should hopefully keep me going in the right direction! Good luck!

  6. If you can’t get the app (which I LOVE btw), you can download free podcasts that do the same thing. Except the music is already mixed for you, you can’t listen to your own music. But it does tell you when to walk and when to run, and the music is pretty good. I like the ones by DJ Beatsmith. Google “podrunner: intervals” and you’ll find them. Good luck! I love C25K!

    • Krista says:

      Ooh, thanks! It’s a little sad you can’t listen to your own music, but the intervals are short enough that I might not notice anyway! Thanks for the advice!

  7. Mama Durso says:

    Every time I finished a paragraph in this post, all I could say was, “RIGHT?!” I agree 100%. And yet, while I know water and veggies are the way to go, I always go for the chocolate covered pretzels first… I suppose I should stop buying them. Tragic.

Leave a Reply

