Sparking of a memory

Is there something that instantly brings you back to a time that you loved? No matter how strange the connection, it immediately makes you long for one moment in time that brought that simple joy you felt?

There are lots of these little things in my life. Like how “Last Christmas” by Wham brings me to think of the annual “Christmas Tree Weekend” that me and my closest 25 family members join in on every year. Or how peach flowers remind me of my very favorite grandmother who I lost 10 years ago. Little things, big memories.

One of the worst commercials known to the entire tel-e-sphere flashes me to my first days with Owen. A commercial that played, for some time, only at night between the hours of midnight and 5 am. A commercial that had one of those tunes that you can.not.stop.singing. I’d sit in bed every night, every couple hours, newborn on my lap, bottle in hand, watching whatever shows exist to the nocturnal. And without fail, every night, this would come on:

It became such a part of my nightly routine that one night, during Full House (there is good TV on in the middle of the night!), I DVRed the commercial. That’s right, I DVRed it. This commercial was held so dear to me that I wanted to document it forever, and show Dave, and knowing that my up-all-nights would be ending soon, I just couldn’t let it go.

Lucky for me (not the rest of the world) the commercial is played all the time now, and it still stops me in my tracks a full year later. I hate this commercial. Whoever came up with the idea has some serious lessons to learn in marketing (come to think of it, perhaps they don’t, everyone I know could sing you this song and tell you what it’s for). But no matter how awful it is, it will forever be one of the things that reminds me of my first weeks with Owen. Those nights that while you’re living them seem endless, when you’re exhausted and crazy. But nights, that, looking back, I long for.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Oh, how I love him, Post pregnancy, The "mommy" in me, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

