Flattery Will Get You Everywhere

“You’re looking really good, huh?”

I haven’t really told Dave that I’ve been trying to lose weight or trying to stick to McFatty Monday, he’s only heard me make a few comments about smaller portions and Weight Watchers points. So, when he said that to me the other day after trying to surprise me while I was in the shower (he is constantly trying to “surprise” me while I’m in the shower) it hit me….. It’s working.

All of these little changes. All of my extra walks. My painful days without Starbucks. It’s actually working. Not only do I feel better when I’m drinking jugs of water and taking walks, but my husband, the guy who is about as observant as a doorknob, actually noticed that I’m looking thinner.

He followed with “you’ve really lost some weight”. YES! Usually when I hear this comment, I follow with something self-deprecating like “ew, I still have so much to lose.” or “ew, my belly is still so gross.” But you know what? This time I answered with “yes, I’ve lost almost 10 lbs recently, thank you for noticing.” And I felt good saying it!

And as I got dressed for the night I put on something that I felt good in, something that showed off that my belly is just a little smaller. I’m starting to flaunt it.

I can go on and on about how it’s about the healthier version of me. I want to be in that “healthy” range and feel better. But who are we kidding, ladies? Though these are great reasons to lose the weight and set a good example for our children (which I am totally doing), isn’t it also nice to have a few compliments and feel sexy in our jeans and cute fall sweaters? YES. And feeling better health-wise is definitely a motivator, but a boost in confidence and feeling better about how I look on the outside? I’m not going to lie and say this doesn’t help my motivation just a little.

I didn’t weigh myself this week though. I feel better, look better, and had a whole week of birthday breakfast, lunch, and dinner celebrations. No way I was going to ruin my motivation with a weigh in to show the results of all that celebrating. This week is quiet though, I’m looking forward to some healthy eating because I definitely noticed how much more tired I am after eating crap all week!

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in McFatty. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flattery Will Get You Everywhere

  1. Vanessa says:

    Yeah! Flattery is awesome!
    I can’t help myself..all my husband hears about lately is calories and fat grams..I am sure he wants to shove a twinkie in my mouth to shut me up!! I should try and not talk about it for a long while..see if/when he brings it up..lol

  2. That’s so awesome!! I’m proud of you, girl!

    And what you said is true about husbands… mine wouldn’t notice anything unless a boob fell off or something. The fact that yours noticed enough to comment on it AND harass you in the shower means you really must be looking good! WOOT!

Leave a comment