WWBD? (the rule of halves)

I had this whole plan to explain my “rule of halves” today, certainly not a new idea in the world of weight loss. If you eat less, you’ll lose weight. (well, unless your normal portions are like 5 times the average, and then, sorry, you’ll still gain weight.) But, in order to back up some of the things I’ve been doing, I wanted to show some pictures. Pictures of some of the best inventions ever, which have helped me greatly in this last month of losing weight.  However, I’ll have you know that no picture exists on google for the new 90 calorie Snickers ice cream bars.  And when I googled just that, this is what came up:

So, instead of tempting you with amazing pictures of ice cream, I’m going to do this post with a twist.  If this sassy, stylish, lover-of-men were to lose weight, how would she do it?  That’s right: What would Blanche do?

Well, I’m pretty sure Blanche would live by the rule of halves… and twos.  Instead of a whole piece of cheesecake for her midnight snack chatting with the ladies in the kitchen, she would have half. And instead of an entire, 180 calorie Snickers Ice Cream Bar, she would buy the extremely convenient 90 calorie version, and only eat 1 (not the FOUR that the “serving size” suggests). If she wanted an ice cream cone, she wouldn’t have a whole Nestle brand “drumstick”, she’d again give thanks for the convenience of the mini version. If Blanche happened to be addicted to Starbucks, she’d use all of her will power to forego her 240 calorie Caramel Macciato for a simple cup of zero calorie tea (ok, that’s not half, but you get the point).

Her plan works in the opposite way too.  If she only walked once a week before, now she would walk twice a week, or heaven-forbid, three times a week! If she would park 100 yards from a store before, now she would park 200 yards and walk the extra distance.

Her plan is fool-proof, eat less, exercise more.

That Blanche is a genius.

*Oh, hey, I also weighed in yesterday at 163.8. ::squeeling with excitement:: 4.2 lbs down from last week. Though I’m pretty sure I’m really only like 2 lbs down, because in the middle of the previous week I weighed myself and I was in the 165 range, but that weekend of no water drinking and heavy foods put me back up to 168.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in McFatty. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WWBD? (the rule of halves)

  1. Nicole says:

    That’s such an awesome, simple way to put it. Love it!

  2. I love it! Seriously, I am going to remember this tonight at dinner and hopefully from here on out. And of course, think of Blanche and burn a few more calories by laughing 🙂 Great post!!

  3. I officially dub this the best McFatty post of the week.

    & congrats on the loss!!!

  4. Vanessa says:

    I should do what Blanch would do..lol!
    Love your post today 🙂

Leave a Reply

