I’m having my tubes tied

Today is brought to you by the letters D and E and also the syllables feat and ed. That pretty much sums up my day friends, de-feat-ed. My child is the devil. I’ve officially realized it.

Ever have one of those days out of left field where no matter what you do, your child hates you? No matter how nice your voice is, or no matter how often you give into his/her screams, it makes.no.difference? That was my day today. Filled with non-stop tantrums, screams (not like yelling, like screeeeeeeching, at the top of his lungs, until your ears bleed), and face slapping. Yes, my baby, at ONE, knows how to throw tantrums, the ones where he throws his whole body backwards so that you have to do some crazy kung-foo move to keep him off the floor. And hitting, like full-on face slap, over, and over, and over….

I know these days happen, I’m sure I’m not the only mom who decided after one day that I will never, ever again reproduce, because if I have to deal with this with another child I will probably lose every last ounce of sanity I have. But it still doesn’t make it any easier to know that it’s not the first, and it won’t be the last time I have to barely make it through the day, finally crying “uncle” at 5 pm, calling Dave and telling him that if he doesn’t come get Owen and bring him home immediately, I’m not going to make it through the day alive.

But what can you do on those days when you know nothing is actually wrong? No fever, no cold, good night’s sleep, Tylenol, food, and every toy any child could ever imagine? Nothing, the answer is nothing.  Just keep your cool (easier said than done) and hope that tomorrow is a better one.

Yikes, I hope tomorrow is a better one.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Infant Agony, The "mommy" in me, What the Eff?. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m having my tubes tied

  1. Kate says:

    Oh, yeah, I know days like those. You’re right–there will be more. But there will also be a lot more better ones. Now go have something chocolate.

Leave a Reply

