Too embarassed for words, thank goodness there’s Twitter

So, I’m not the most social media savvy person out there.  And I’ve only recently discovered Twitter. And you know how they say to hide your social media sites just in case your employer feels the need to check in on you? Yeah….about that.

Up until May, I was a contract blogger for a tech site that seems to no longer exist. Because of that part-time gig, I had to sign up for Twitter. I never wanted to join Twitter. What was the point? You can see my status on Facebook, people (boy was I wrong)! And we were asked to link this Twitter account to LinkedIn, that way, whenever we blogged something, it would be tweeted (twitted? twatted? Probably not twatted), and then since it was linked to LinkedIn, it would automatically show up there. 

Fast forward to a few weeks ago, when I discovered that I am obsessed with Twitter.  It’s open all day on my computer, I can’t get enough, it’s like a bowl of peanut M&M’s right in front of me, I won’t stop, no matter how fat and lazy I’m getting. I added the twitter app on my phone, I check it constantly. We’re talking addiction. 

Remember how I said my twitter account was linked to LinkedIn? Well, I didn’t remember. And so, every time I was tweeting, my words were automatically sent to the profile that my co-workers, bosses, and past colleagues could see. My Twitter posts!

Twitter posts that ranged from innocent:

To a little embarrassing:

To TMI:

To full on, I’m gonna get fired:

Okay, that last one didn’t really happen, thank GOD, or else I could have very well lost my job. Imagine much to my surprise, my brother-in-law making a comment to me about how it’s inappropriate to be posting my Facebook statuses on my LinkedIn account, and then reading each one to me, verbatim, from his iPhone? 

::drops dead of embarrassment::

Now here’s just hoping that no one else gets LinkedIn updates sent to their phones.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in I hate my job, I'm truly dumb, What the Eff?. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Too embarassed for words, thank goodness there’s Twitter

  1. Mrs. Joe says:

    My heart stopped at the last one until I realized it didn’t really happen! That would be something I would do! Yesterday, I was driving back from lunch with a coworker and a sweet spot was open in the parking lot. Parking is tough right now where I am, so we were really excited. Out of nowhere, this little car came in and took the spot before I made it there, and I yelled “Bastard!!”, forgetting that my window was open. To my horror, my boss’s boss got out of the car and waved at me.

  2. oh, my God. I would DIE.

    Thank God you didn’t put the last one down, but seriously? Some of my tweets would send me running for the hills.

  3. Mrs. Priss says:

    OOH shooooot. This post scared the crap out of me because that’s one of my biggest fears… having my boss discover my twitter account. Good thing you know now! AHH

Leave a Reply

