Content with the same

I haven’t done a McFatty Monday post in 3 weeks, and that’s just fine because I’m the exact same weight as I was then. Which I am perfectly happy with!  I know I did go down a couple of times, as I weighed myself periodically, however, when you have two weeks of pure celebration, staying the same ain’t so bad.

Today’s themes are perfect: have a plan, and be content.  Like Heidi, I also saw Eat, Pray, Love this weekend and the very same scene stuck out at me. As I watched Julia Roberts smile while eating some amazing food, pointing out that men don’t care if you have a little “muffin top”, I was beaming.  “You’re RIGHT!” I’m not obese, and my husband still wants to do the nasty with me.  I do have some weight to lose, but my goals are for my health, I want to be in the “healthy” BMI range, and I’m this —> <—close.

But these last 3 weeks were proof that I need to find that balance of being healthy and enjoying food.  Balance.  Normally you can balance because there aren’t any more than 1 function or celebration a week, however, these last three weeks were filled with celebration.  Owen’s birthday, my anniversary, my grandparents’ birthday, etc.  All of these events were filled with delicious food, drinks, and did I mention food

This is where Blair’s plan comes into play.  I knew that I had some big events planned, and so, to balance that, I counted points the rest of the time.  I didn’t count those events, why should I? I’m not obese, I want to enjoy my expensive dinner, why drop all that money if you can’t truly enjoy it? And I stayed the same. And this week, I have no big events, I can plan all of my meals and count the points easily.  So, for the next two weeks, I can plan on being good, enjoying the quiet, and in 2 weeks I know I have a big family day planned, and food will be involved. Why stress? Why not enjoy?  I’m tired of thinking about what others are thinking. I’m not copping out, I’m still going to lose weight, but I’m not going to beat myself up so much.  I’ll take not gaining as a small “win” and any weight lost as an amazing accomplishment.  But balance, balance is what I need to allow myself to enjoy the little things, like an expensive fried calamari appetizer, or a couple martinis, or that fatty roasted duck, because, seriously, how often do I get to? And that cupcake that was the symbol of my baby’s first birthday? Wouldn’t miss it for the world.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Blair, McFatty. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Content with the same

  1. Vanessa says:

    Hey there..I am doing Mcfatty Monday’s as well…I totally need to work on the whole balance issue myself and stop worrying about every darn morsel!

    Good for you on enjoying all those fun events..that is what life & livin’ are all about!
    Vanessa

  2. Love this.

    Because it is about balance. You can’t live life counting calories all the time, but you also have to stay healthy. It’s all about making it work in real life 🙂

Leave a Reply

