A letter to a best friend

Dear friend,

Friend who has been part of my life for more years than I can remember.  Friend that I have known through every phase of my life, good and bad.  Friend who walked in front of me, down the aisle, on the best day of my life.  Friend who made me fun when no one else could.  Friend who accepts that I’m not fun, and loves me for it. 

Words cannot express how proud I am of you for how far you have come in just one month.  You hit rock bottom, and sometimes in order to become greater than you’ve ever been, rock bottom is where you need to go.  Well, never again my friend.  Never again will I worry that one day the police won’t stop you from destruction.  Worry that a call will come that this time you weren’t  lucky enough to make it home.  Worry that your family and friends are pulling you deeper and deeper…. drowning.  To a point where the worst will happen. 

I see a change in you that is bigger than anything I’ve seen.  A positive outlook, that intense craving to be better.  A power I can feel in my stomach every time I see you, every time I talk to you, every time I think of you.  This time, this time it is different.  This time, it is for you.  Not for the law, not for your family, for you. 

You are a strong person.  You’ve proven that with all you have been through.  You don’t go in to anything half way.  This can be no different, it won’t be,  it isn’t.  You have a passion that no one can match, and with that passion, you will succeed. 

As I sit here, tears in my eyes, I have this envy of your strength.  This proudness that I have felt for no other.  I have seen too many fail, relapse, give up.  Not you.  I can feel it.  I just know.  You may have hit rock bottom, the evil that was necessary to change your life completely.  Change everything.  Except that passion.  That caring.  Change everything – except the things that make you who I love. 

Find strength in your “higher power,” friend.  And I will be with you every step of the way. Through the future life phases.  For the rest of your life.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Amazing people, Family, Life's hard decisions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A letter to a best friend

  1. Heidi-D says:

    Wow. Touching. It isn’t often that someone has the good fortune to find a person that loves them and believes in them with such conviction. Of that connection… I am jealous. Your “friend” is lucky to have you!

    Thank you for sharing that.

  2. roncap says:

    “It’s only after you’ve lost everything,” Tyler says, “that you’re free to do anything.” ~Chuck Palahniuk, Fight Club, Chapter 8

    roncap.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

