The thrills of childhood

Spring is upon us, folks, and I COULD NOT BE HAPPIER.  I was sick of the cold, sick of the snow, sick of bundling.  I’m ready for those days when we can drive around with the windows down, go places without heating the car up and scraping the windshield first, and sit outside with a nice cold beer glass of lemonade.  And, with this new season, came yet another first for my growing-way-too-old son, his first trip to the park!!

I can’t even describe how exciting this was for me.  Even before I was a mother I would think about how great it is going to be to just take a last minute ride to the park for some much needed fresh air and hours of fun and exercise.  Luckily I did not cry, though I got choked up a few times thinking about it.  It wasn’t a long trip, but it was well worth it.  To see my big man in the swing, the wind blowing through his “duck hair” (thank you Trace for that perfect description).  Some smiles and laughing, and of course, mostly his serious “taking it all in” face.  

Sitting on the ground with him once again reminded me how quickly he is growing.  Sitting in front of me, barely needing my support.  Reaching into the grass and grasping everything in sight.  Actually interacting with his BFF Gavin, a sneak peek to what a different child he’ll be in just TWO MONTHS.  By the middle of the summer, he’ll be following Gav around, eating the mulch just like his big buddy.  🙂 

The best part was definitely, for me, finally enjoying some time with my baby.  It’s been a long time since I’ve had any time (between jobs, feedings, changings, errands, etc, etc) to just drop everything to just be with my baby.  Thank you Tracey for calling me and giving me a reason to do that.  Had you not called, I would have run errands and then hurried home to get more work done.  But instead I got to remember what I love so much about being a mom, seeing all of these firsts, seeing smiles on his face, and getting to experience the joys of parenthood.  An uninterrupted amount of time to just be a happy mom with a happy baby.  AND I got to see a friend, another rarity these days.  So, to you, I am grateful. 

 

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Family, Life's little milestones, Oh, how I love him, The "mommy" in me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The thrills of childhood

  1. roncap says:

    This is very true, my family and I are also excited about finally getting outside. There is something wonderful about just being outside in the air and smells.

    Spending time with someone and giving them your is one of the greatest gifts a person can give to anyone. I truly enjoy your blog, I am putting it on my blog roll if that is ok.

    • Krista says:

      Fresh air and sun DEFINITELY change my mood completely (for the better!)!! I’m honored you’d add me to your blogroll, thanks and welcome!

Leave a Reply

