Dear News/Internet,

I have no interest in hearing anything about this man:

 

I have no interest in being reminded that while we struggle with multiple  jobs, bills we can’t pay, and broken cars we can’t fix, this man can do anything he wants anytime, and enjoy every second of it.  I don’t want to be reminded that while we’re in a recession, desperate for a new job that will bring us any satisfaction or any chance of more money, he’s sitting pretty on the stocks that made him a billionaire.  While we agonize over the choice to bring another child into this world in fear that we cannot afford one more mouth to feed and bum to diap, he is investing in yet another company.

He is entitled to his new crown.  And I commend him for coming from nothing and becoming what he is today.  Good for him, no, really, I mean that.  But, I can’t bear to have it shoved in my face all day, as I sit here, the day after my boss approved yet another measly 3% raise for me, with a side comment of “Wow, we don’t pay you much at all.”  We’re all hurting enough, media outlets, please shelter us from what we’re missing. 

Thank you,

Love, Krista

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in I hate my job, Life In General, Pity Party, The poor house. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dear News/Internet,

  1. Trace says:

    Don’t you ever just feel inspired to write to people like him? It would go something like this:
    Dear richest man in the world, (and/or Oprah)
    Do you think you could throw a measly 40G’s our way? I mean seriously– that is chump change to you. I could probably find it hidden in your couch cracks if I were given the opportunity. And this 40 G’s– it would be LIFE CHANGING for someone like me. LIFE CHANGING. Get us out of debt (well, minus student loans, which I am also happy to also have you pay off) AND get us into a better house in a better town with better schools for my wee ones. Think about it. Let me know.
    Regards,
    T

  2. Ashley says:

    I totally get it. My boss was trying to convince the head honcho that we save money and told him “we don’t spend money, we’re frugal, just look at what we pay Ashley” and I second Trace’s letter, he should share the wealth

Leave a Reply

