And next, he’ll be driving

Whoa, whoa Krista, bring in the reins…..but in all seriousness, sometimes that’s how I feel.  Two weeks ago (yeah, I’m two weeks behind, you try keeping up with this and take care of a 5 1/2 month old and keep 2 jobs), we made the big leap to a “big boy” carseat, aka, out of the ridiculously small, owen crunching infant seat.  I didn’t want to do it, I mean, having that infant seat is so convenient!  I can plop him in at any time, zip up the amazingly comfy sleeping bag like sack around him and go anywhere.  The thing fit easily on a shopping cart, where owen and i could chat or he could sleep while I got my shopping done.  After 7, Dave and I could go out to dinner and Owen would sleep through the whole thing.  No bundling up in a jacket, no making sure one whole arm of mine is free so I can carry him in and out, and especially, no need to plan for sleeping/napping times, no matter what, he could be in that carseat. 

No longer can things be that easy.  Now anywhere we go I’ve got to make sure he’ll be awake, or at least awake enough to put him in the ergo without him complaining.  And that jacket… man, he hates putting on that jacket, and I don’t blame him, it’s puffy, covers half his face, and is so big it makes him resemble a linebacker.  But, he survives and gets over it quickly.  But, my biggest complaint is the emotional attachment I had to that carseat.  He’s my baby, he needs to be carried around like a baby.  And now, by growing out of that seat, he’s growing out of being my baby. 

As I put him into the carseat for what I knew was the last time, I cried.  Dave thought I was crazy, and yes, I agree, but I couldn’t help it!  It’s just another little milestone that has come and gone in what feels like the blink of an eye.  So, I cried when I put him in that seat for the last time, and I cried when I put him in his (temporary) big boy carseat for the first time (we a week later bought him a brand new one because we were temporarily using a hand-me-down). 

Because he’s out of the infant carseat, we hit another milestone, he’s riding in the real part of the stroller… and I have to say, this made for hours of laughter on our saturday shopping spree.  He played, talked, relaxed, kicked his legs, and kept lounging with his arm on the side like he was livin’ in the 80’s riding in his camero.  It was hilarous.  And yes, I got misty when I put him in the carriage too, that’s just my crazy way 🙂

I'm outta here!

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Life's little milestones, Oh, how I love him, The "mommy" in me. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And next, he’ll be driving

  1. Jenny says:

    I can imagine its sad that he’s not a “baby” baby anymore, but he’s getting cuter the older he gets! I don’t think you’re crazy for crying though.

Leave a Reply

