And the mother of the year award goes to????

Certainly NOT me.

Yeah, I let him get drunk too

After a long day of juggling work and Owen on Friday, we sat down for some quiet time on the couch.  What a big boy he is, he can now sit on the couch all by himself and play with a toy (of course leaning back on a pillow).  I sit right in front of him on the floor so that I’m at eye level and we play with his little crab rattle, enjoying every minute.  I turn my body to grab a bag of pistachios off the floor and turn back…. only to see my child tumbling in front of me, too quick to catch, and hit his head right on the floor. 

Cue crying… his and mine.  Me holding him bawling telling him how I’ll never let him fall again and that I can’t explain to him how sorry I am.  And that “mummy is the worst mummy that has ever existed”.  Over and over with I love you, and kisses, and guilt.  Literally, within arm’s reach, directly in front of me, I let my child fall to the floor.  Totally preventable, and totally stupid.  Luckily it was way more traumatic for me than it was for him, he stopped crying within a minute or two while I continued to sob asking my sister if I should be calling 911.  She assured me that her son has fallen on his head countless times, and he’s turning out a-ok. 

Why would I EVER sit here and write this?  I’m pretty sure there will be a couple readers who are mortified that I would ever neglect my child like that and then *gasp* not get a doctor involved.  But I’m sure hoping there are other moms out there who have watched their child clunk their heads into more than one hard surface and lived to tell about it.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Infant Agony, The "mommy" in me. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And the mother of the year award goes to????

  1. True Story: Ava fell off our (high-platform, Queen-sized) bed onto the (shiny, hardwood) bedroom floor at 4 months old. I just put her down “for a minute” to go grab my brush to brush my hair. I didn’t think she was rolling yet- I was wrong 😦 She cried like she’d never cried before, to the point that her mouth was wide open but no sound was coming out. It was heartbreaking. I cried even harder. I didn’t let her go for the rest of that day, and spoiled her but as many bottles as she wanted. I felt ashamed of such a foolish decision and wondered if somehow I’d damaged her little brain forever. I also called my older, wiser, more mommy-experienced sister, who gave me the poignant advice that I’ll share with you now: “The same thing happened to (her daughter) around this age. It happens to all of us– it’s God way of letting us as Moms know, ok, your baby is about to embark on this journey of mobility soon– PAY MORE ATTENTION! I know it’s a sucky way to learn the lesson…but I can guarantee you one thing, Trace– you’ll never leave her alone on the bed again. She’ll be fine, I promise. Snuggle her, kiss her, and tomorrow will be a new day.”
    My sisters words still resonate in my head as if they were spoken yesterday, when in reality, that little incident was a lifetime ago. (And for the record, 4.5 years later, my little bed-roller-offer is a successful, smart, funny, piano-playing, ballet-dancing preschooler with no long-term effects of “the tumble.” )

    🙂

    p.s. also, if it makes you feel any better, I also nominated myself for Un-mom of the year last week: http://nineteen81.blogspot.com/2010/02/how-not-to-win-mom-of-year-award.html

  2. Ashley says:

    I think if they really gave our Un-moomy of the year awards, many many momma’s would recieve them. It happens to every one. I promise. And I’ll tell you a secret. Toddlers suck at walking, and they tumble and fall and hit thier heads all the time. Its okay. It really sucks to see, but it happens. Your not a neglectful mom and your doing a great job!

    • True To Life says:

      Thanks for the encouragement!! I’m learning from many friends now that I’m not the only one 🙂 And that it’ll happen again in some form or another! Hopefully next time it won’t be so traumatic for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

