Good ol’ southern comfort

No, not the alcohol, I haven’t called that “good” since I was 15 and had this amazing ability to drink really bad hard alcohol straight… no longer can I even mix so-co with anything and drink it successfully.  I am talking about good old, butter filled southern comfort food.  YUM…. 

Every month a group of friends and I get together for what we call “gourmet” night.  Each meeting has a theme, and the host is responsible for choosing that theme, and creating the main dish.  We as guests are responsible for appetizers, soup or salad, dessert, and of course lots and lots of drinks.  Last night was southern comfort night.  So, side note… when you are all reading all about how sad I am that I didn’t lose ANY weight this week for McFatty Monday?  Don’t feel bad for me, obviously THIS helped me achieve my lack of a loss 🙂

Anyway, I was SO looking forward to this night, I pictured biscuits, fried chicken, and butter, lots and lots of butter.  Though everything was good, it just wasn’t what I had pictured.  We here in Massachusetts tend to fancy up things inappropriately.  Instead of trusting Paula Deen when she says something is delicious, we need to create either a “healthy” version (how could you do that to Paula’s well thought out butter filled treats??) or a fancy Boston high class version.  I do not accept either.  If I’m going to go comfort, I’m going ALL the way!

The appetizer really was amazing.  Pulled pork on crispy french bread with some caramelized onions.  Truly scrumptious, but was not what I considered southern “comfort”  (correct me if I’m wrong all you southern gals!).  Then corn chowder for our soup.  How can you go wrong?  A barefoot contessa recipe but cut back on the cream and oil.  WHY?  It was good, but again, when I think comfort I think THICK.  (that’s what she said).  Main course?  Fried chicken… mmmm… nothing can be better than cheating on a diet with pure fat adhered to a chicken thigh.  But instead of some good fatty buttermilk to hold all that flour and spices on, it was water and egg… Doesn’t everyone know that the secret is FAT to make it better?? 🙂

Side dishes?  Cole slaw… but instead of the high fat dressing you’d expect, it was non-fat sour cream and non-fat mayo… unacceptable.  And I don’t know what went wrong with the biscuits, but they were not the thick tasty treats I’m used to.   So, I left gourmet feeling like I had wasted an incredibly crucial cheat day.  Nothing was as amazing as I had hoped it would be, and really, taking out “some” of the fat does not make it low fat.  So, I was disappointed, both in the food, and in myself.  I’ll get over it, but when I have those crazy cheats, I want them to be worth it!! 

I’d like a do-over on my cheat night… I’d like to make fried chicken like my dad does with layers and layers of crispy fat, and french fries to go with it (cooked in that same fat!).  I’d like the corn chowder like my mom makes.  Nothing  but heavy cream and milk, and bacon (and the bacon fat that the bacon was cooked in).  I guess you can see now why my friends at gourmet are all SKINNY… and I spend every monday agonizing about being McFatty, haha.  Hey, though nothing tastes as good as skinny feels, you shouldn’t mess with fried chicken and corn chowder.

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in McFatty. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

