I’m Mr. Icicle… I’m Mr. Ten Below

When it rains, it pours, folks… and my life is no different!  I woke up this morning barely able to see, I was so tired.  My eyes swollen, muscles sore.  Rewind to 5:30 last night.  High hopes for a re-run of Tuesday.  Early dinner, bath for Owen, baby bedtime, and EXERCISE!  I was feeling pretty darn good about my new relationship with Jillian Michaels, and was gitty at the fact that I could see her again so soon after our first date.  After all, if you make something a routine, it’s easier to stick with it… Well, instead of my fitness rendezvous, I came home to a vomiting mini-Dave with a 102 degree fever.  After a failed attempt at a feeding which ended up in the burp cloth, and a failed attempt at Tylenol which ended up in his bib (thank goodness Dave thought to use that as the barf catcher… I was attempting to use a tissue, I have no idea where my brain was) we gave in and decided a tubby was the best remedy.  After this was a success, and after a couple calls to the doctor, we considered the 3 ounces of formula he was able to keep down a win, and put him to bed.  By this time, my enthusiasm for the Shred had dwindled and instead I watched my DVRed episodes of Teen Mom and Secret Life of the American Teenager.  Okay, so I did not in any way mind that part of my night, since my guilty pleasure shows lighten any bad mood I may be in. 

We knew the night ahead would be long, so we hit the hay early (well, at 9, which is pretty darn close to our bedtime anyway).  Within 2 hours the first feeding shift began… I successfully got 4 oz of formula and 0.8 ml of Tylenol into Owen and, though he whined for quite some time, he went back to sleep… two hours later, the next shift… then 30 minutes later, then 2 hours later…. When my alarm went off at 5:30 I thought the world was going to end.  There was no possible way I could get up… But I did, what choice do I have? 

Eh, nothing too bad, we’ve had long nights before in these last 4 months, and I can handle it with a nice hot shower and a ginormous cup of Starbucks (which put me over my 2 cup limit for the week in my goals, but seriously, it was a choice between sanity or saving a few extra calories to avoid a gain on Monday, I’ll take my sanity).  However, after dragging my ass into the office for my 10 hour day I got a call from Dave… on my WORK PHONE… when I tell you that the amount of times I have gotten a call from Dave on my work phone can be counted on one hand, I am not lying. 

 I was SURE Owen had relapsed and his fever had gone up to death level and he was vomiting in exorcism proportions… I would have welcomed that news.  Instead it was the news that the furnace, the one that we kept “fixing” enough to keep it working, had stopped working.  The heat had never come on today, and it was time to pony up the $500 that the nice oil heater man warned us it would cost to fix it for good.  Seriously?  TODAY?  The very same week that we have hit financial ruin due to my absolutely dim-witted mistakes.  The very same week where we will not be paid because Dave has started his new job and there is a lag before his first check…  The very same week that we needed to buy the 250 gallons of oil to fuel the furnace that has now shit the bed. 

At first I was so angry I couldn’t speak.  I grunted at Dave over the phone and asked him if he is going to start hooking to make this magical money.  Once I hung up, this extreme calm came over me.  As I looked at our bank account and decreased our payments to our upcoming bills, I realized, any time this happens we figure it out.  We will not be homeless.  But seriously God, why me??  I’m not angry, I’m just puzzled.  Why can’t these things just spread themselves out enough so that we have some time to recover?  Why couldn’t this have happened in 1 month when our taxes would most likely be done?  Why?  Well, that’s just life.  When it rains, it pours!!

So, as I sit here at home, waiting for our happy furnace man to come and whisk away every cent we have in our bank account to give us the luxury of heat, I’ve hit the acceptance phase of this debacle.  I’ll just curl up in my blankie and watch 17 kids and counting and hope that we can handle the actual bill he gives us.  I’ll hope that after a few paychecks from Dave’s new job that we can once again afford to go get food and gas.  Until then, we’ll have to go back to the glory days when we first bought our townhouse 3 years ago where we bonded over tv and soup due to lack of money to leave the house.  Ramen is awfully tasty, and thank goodness Dave agrees 🙂 

I sure hope he hurries up though, I’m FREEZING! (and want to have my ceremonious Thursday glass of wine… I feel that he’ll view me differently if he shows up at 3:30 and I’m already drinking!)

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Infant Agony, The poor house. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

