And so it goes…

Every time I went through my first blog post in my head the words of Billy Joel came to mind, which actually don’t make sense, because it is a sad song about leaving, and well, I’m here to stay for a while (hopefully happily). 

What do you write in a first blog post??? I agonize over this nightly, as I’m rocking in my glider with a 4 month old baby in silence… there’s a lot to think about when it’s completely quiet and dark, with nothing but the glow of a blue alien night light on a shelf and the sucking of a ravenous baby (because of course we NEVER feed him). 

Do I try to sum up my life in a short synopsis? Or do I go right to the “now” and go from there?  I guess I could give a brief intro into the workings of the exciting thing I call my life.  Like I said, I live in the suburbs in New England… in a town I would never raise my child in once he’s school age, but where you get “more house for your money” as they say.  I work in product management (marketing) in a position I went to 6 years of college for, and I spend 90% of my time writing emails for people, and then emailing them directly back to let them know what the person replied in the email… thanks master’s degree (on a side note, during a recent training, the instructor introduced us to “let me google that for you”.  That sums up my job.)  Unfortunately there are no other jobs out there that allow for not much experience, and I’m working at a company that is actually thriving in a bad economy… a job is a job and until I’m independently wealthy I’ll continue to work.

I married Dave in September of 2008, a person I can honestly say is me as a male (not that I’m all that girly to start with) and we quickly got the urge to procreate (well, one drunken night and a comment from my pregnant sister gave us the urge to procreate…. a story for another time).  The fertile Gods must have been working overtime cause it worked on the first go-round.  Fast forward 9 months, a completely renovated house, and dislocated shoulder later, and we got Owen, a bouncing 8 lb 15 oz baby.  Since that blessed day we have been working our butts off in a perpetual cycle of bottles, diapers, laundry and bills.  I swear, once I get the house cleaned or the laundry done it’s right back to where it started… and you’d think cleaning bottles would not take over every minute of life, but, in fact, it DOES. 

In the midst of all of the endless chores and wiping, I blog in my mind.  I think of how every single mundane event is actually layers upon layers of hilarity.  Everything leading up to that routine bum wipe is filled with interesting details and inuendos 🙂  I will also give credit to “Blair“.  A sweet southern girl who I first followed on “The Bump” on the community pages.  I admit it, I was one of the people who went to the site and read all the posts, but never commented… I found most of the girls on there mean, and I hate to admit it, I thought Blair was one of those mean girls who sent me back to middle school when you thought every word you said would be scrutinized and you’d be sent to the dork table faster than you could say Z Cavaricci.  Slowly, my guilty pleasure became heading to her blog site, and as the days passed, I would go further and further into her archives.  I quickly realized that instead of a Jaci clone (someone who made or broke you way back when), Blair was HILARIOUS… and sweet (in her own satirical way).  Reading more and more of her blogs, and rushing every day to read the next installment of my daily soap opera fix, I wanted to do the same thing.  I put it off for so long thinking “well, no one will ever see it”, or “who cares about my life?”  Well, who cared about her life, or any other life of a blogger out there?  WE DO!!!  So, thank you, Blair (insert your real name here!).  You’ve inspired me.  Your honesty and trials and tribulations that hit home to so many of us have made me want to express the same to the world. 

Enough of the cheezy tribute… This is MY life.  One that I will probably never share with my own family because no one could ever look at me the same way.  But these things that happen most likely happen to everyone, and if not, well, then hopefully it’ll make for some interesting stories!!!  AND SO IT GOES….

  

About Krista

Livin the poor life with the typical american family; husband, baby, and dogs. Happy to tell it like it is, the ins and outs of being a young, hip mom can be more hilarious than one might think ;)
This entry was posted in Blair, Life In General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

